top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

Throwback to Cascais


With the weather getting nicer and Spring making its appearance in such a delicate and splendorous way I can't help myself but daydream about the coastline. This trip was around the time people weren't so serious about social distancing, we could still go to bars, didn't fear our life going on a train without covering all of our body in protective wear and life was pretty good in general. I do admit that this wasn't the most responsible thing to do not even back then cause as I can remember it was the first day when we experienced that we have to stay in a queue to get in a grocery shop.

It all started when my flatmate turned to me and asked:

-Hey, do you wanna come with me and some other Nova students to the beach? They are leaving in about half an hour.

So we made it in an hour. This is how Portuguese time works. We don't make the rules, but we have to follow them.

Half of the group made it the same time as we did and although I was skeptical, it turned out that my transport card works some places outside Lisbon as well (which made me sad now cause I din't have the opportunity to discover all the places I had a "free" pass to)

Not so far from the train station there was the beach where exotic looking ladies were selling some carpets carrying them on their heads.


Finally got to meet some friends of my flatmate and we spent most of the day peacefully enjoying the sunlight, listening to some music and having our little picnic. We played some Dutch board game, the boys were playing football in the sand and we had a really good time although the water was way too cold for a dip.

After wandering around this particular beach and climbing the rocks barefoot, one of the guys suggested that we should watch the sunset from another place he ended up finding on one of his trips to Cascais.




He guided us through beautiful narrow streets and we got to a beautiful scenery with even more breath taking sights than the ones I've seen in the Algarve. This time I wasn't alone and I was blessed with a photographer as well so I din't have to look awkward smiling in my own camera or looking for someone who looks like he or she could make a decent photo.




The sunset was amazing, beautiful-beautiful colors painting the endless sky, talented street musician playing in the background and great companion on the side.








Erasmus, this is the way I will remember you .


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page