top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

Ocenario



In September and October there was a deal at the Oceanarium of Lisbon that let every person who's under 25 years to enter the exhibition area for only 5 euros. I had to take advantage of this. On Thursdays I don't have classes so they're practical for taking day trips or in this case, a trip to see some bog blue. Since I don't know that many people of the new Erasmus and some of them certainly have stuff to do on a weekday I headed to the place alone.



I never was around this area of the city but I was impressed since it's a quite modern part with skyscrapers and modern architecture.





The line with the online tickets was quick and I was inside in a few minutes. The exhibition started on the second floor and in the beginning it was pretty but nothing too architecturally impressive you know. Cute little fish and information sections about the sea life.



As you entered the main part of the exhibition that's where it got impressive. The main aquarium was huge. two stories tall and so big that 4 different climate representations could be arranged around it in a way that the hot tropical air wouldn't bother the Antarctic. I was expecting fish and some sharks but there was so much more. For example look at these penguins! They are having the time of their life.




Other than that there were frogs and weird animals that I do not know which category to include them like these:



One thing that I could appreciate a lot was their intent to bring attention to the importance of reducing waste as this can easily end up in the insides of the sea animals, making them sick and it could possibly even kill them in some cases. This artistic exhibition illustrates the issue perfectly.


Also, enjoy this section in which Finding Nemo was reenacted in the Ocenario of Lisboa and a video about the fish swimming happily. If you visit the city, I recommend this place. Going to an oceanarium is a very touristic thing to do after all.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page