top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

NYE in Lisbon



Well, spending New Years Eve in the times of restrictions is a bit different. I'm a bit sad that I couldn't experience a corona-free semester, but I'm planning to still do an Erasmus in my master's years so I'm not too hopeless about this long-term goal. It didn't happen as I imagined. In the beginning of the semester, I thought I would have the occasions to meet so many people I could not keep up with their names but no, the Erasmus activities got cancelled really early for that. I imagined I would be a part of a big party on the last day of 2020, I thought it would be at Grimaldi, maybe even the lovely girls who lived there last semester would join but no. This year is quite something. I find it interesting how every part of the world has their own traditions for this special night. For example, at home someone would always throw around some coins in the hallway or some would say to you that you have to wear red underwear to attract the good luck (this year I got red underwear just for this, even thou red is definitely not my favorite color).

The NYE traditions in Portugal are really nice, so I would like to share some of them.

  • Eat chocolate to attract money

  • Hold some money while stepping up onto a chair, using your right foot first, to signify moving up in life and attracting richness

  • Put a bill inside your right shoe, and make the first purchase of the year with it

  • Put a bay leaf in your wallet and leave it there the whole year

What color you wear on NYE, is also important:

  • red: to attract love

  • blue: to bring good luck

  • brown: professional success

  • green: good health

  • yellow: brings money

  • white: manifests peace

That's all about the interesting traditions I'd like to mention, feliz ano novo!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page