top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

Kayak to Castelo de Almourol


This was my first time kayaking and I was quite nervous about it. I'm kind of an awkward and clumsy individual myself so I was really worried that I will make my partner suffer throughout the trip.

 The leaders told us everything we needed to know about the near future: we get starter kayaks, if it's high tide we will be good and if it's low tide the not so much. Also they warned us to pick an experienced partner if this is our first time. The girls so I made friends with were already in pairs so I had to get a little out of my comfort zone and pick someone I never met .

 "Pick a strong guy to do the work instead of you", they said.

 I must have looked really lost because I ended up not being the one to take the initiative. Some girls asked me to be with their group and that was it .

 One quick bypass: the world is so small. We introduced ourselves, what are our names, where are we from. This one girl said she's Colombian Hungarian, which is a very unusual combination, so I asked if she speaks Hungarian which she did. We ended up having a chat about their past. It seemed like she enjoyed talking in Hungarian. I supposed it was because she lives in Denmark and doesn't really have the chance the train her  mother language. It turned out she used to be a student of the exact same University as me: the University of Pecs. Such a small word!

 So back to the kayaking, should we ?

 We didn't just kayak for the sake of it, we had the destination: the castle of Almourol which I think is an amazing concept. Me and my partner where is quite uncoordinated, even got stocked into a rock but we made it nonetheless. I would even say we got pretty good at it by the end.

 We visited the castle, it had been Juris parts we could easily fall off but the view from the top was worth it .

Fortunately didn't have to use our kayaks to get the back because the bus was waiting for us. Most of us were tired and drained down by the Sun. 

The next day was definitely hard on the arms. I have sore muscles in places I didn't even know I could have.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page