top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

Interview with a graduating student

Updated: May 22, 2020


I am absolutely blessed to have such a talented, fun and goofy cousin as Orsi Szabó. One of these days, when it was finally legal to meet each other in Romania, she came to visit me and to work on her final presentation. While she was glueing the flowers to the dress designed by her, I decided to ask her some questions. Here's how it all went:

I: Hello dear, how are you on this wonderful day?

O: I'm feeling good. To be honest you happened to insult me, but I'm getting past it. (acting huffy)

I: What did I say that was so provoking?

O: You said I don't deserve my boyfriend. (both of us laughing hysterically)

I: Could you say anything that can be used on an Erasmus-themed blog?

O: I'm waiting for the questions.


I: Could you introduce yourself? What kind of student are you, etc.

O: I am a very eminent student... at the moment.

I: No... I meant...

O: I am Orsi, hello everyone.

I: That's not how I meant... O: ...I'm from Reghin. I study Textile design in Tirgu Mures. (Finally answering the question)

I: Aka a fashion designer? O: Yes, I'm that.

I: You presented that today, beautifully.



I: So you're planning to applying to a university.

O: Yes.

I: The bacalaureat exam is near. Do you feel like you are prepared to take it?

O: At this very moment, not at all. (laughs in anxiety). But we'll see it in a month.

I: What subjects are you taking an exam in?

O: You really don't know?! The Romanian language, Hungarian, Geography, History, English, Technology in Informatics and I'm sure there is something else as well, but if I don't know about it, it must not be important.

I: Where are you planning to go to do your further studies?

O: I will apply to the Babes Bolyai university in Cluj. I plan on taking the Film, photo, Media course.


I: Have already you heard about the Erasmus mobility?

O: Yes, it's quite popular. especially cause you like to speak about it a lot.

I: What do you personally think about it based on what you've heard?

O: I think it's great, because universities give a lot of opportunities for the students to be able to follow their studies in countries that are perhaps more advanced in their field.



I: Do you plan to participate once you will be able to?

O: Yes.

I: Do you already have a destination in your mind?

O: Yes.

I: Which is...?

O: Italy.

I: Do you think you will be selecting more countries once you will be completing your application?

O: Yes, but I don't know the countries yet. I mean, I do know the countries... and even their capitals. TRY ME!

I: Okay... Norway.

O: Oslo. Another one.

I: Belarus.

O: Minsk. (She really does know it all)


I: Sticking to the previous topic. You said your dream destination is Italy. Why do you think it would suit your studies?

O: We know that many successful movies were taking place, directed and realised in Italy. Their movie culture is very advanced,

I: Could you name a few examples?

O: Surely. There is one of my favorites, which is Call me by your name... There many, I can't name more right now (anxiously reaches for phone to search for more). You can name some too! (understanbly nodes when I list La vita e bella and Dolce vita)


I: How much time would you like to spend abroad?

O: As much as possible. I: What are you expecting from this experience? O: I expect to get to know the world, to discover a different country basically. I think that it's an investment in our studies and our future, I expect to learn a lot from it. Also, I know that it will be really fun, full with parties and beach days. I surely will miss my boyfriend...

I: Do you think you will still be together by then?

O: YES. He's mine! Period!


Alright, this was Orsi, thank you for reading, and if you want more posts like this...



O: Wait, that was all? Ask me more questions!

I: What else could I ask?

O: So I want to talk about how much I am curious how people party in other areas than the balkans, cause here things get wild... (almost starting to do some nostalgic reflection on the many occasions she almost died)

O: I want to discover the Mediterranean countries that aren't influenced by the western winds (gets poetical about it)

I: You're very prepared for the Geography exam, I see. But that have to cut it, thank you very much for assisting me today, and have a very nice week or period until you come over again. It was lovely interviewing you.





I really enjoyed this bit, we laughed a lot and I'm thinking about starting a series of interviews on the blog. I'm not sure if I will keep up this unprepared style or maybe try to be more prepared for a context and form that will make more sense. We'll see. Until that, thank you for tuning in and reading my experimental writings.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page