top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

How to survive the semester when you're lazy

Leave everything for last minute. Just kidding, that's the worst idea ever, please don't do that.

What I am about to tell you might not sound as good in the beginning. You might have expected cool life hack book life isn't as simple as that. The secret is quite obvious:  stop procrastinating.

 Most of the students I know actually leave everything for the minute that is after the last minute. I don't know about you but I do not work well under pressure. At least every time I end up in the situation my work doesn't turn out as good as it's might have. It just doesn't  live up to the expectation.

 When we started the first class of the project laboratory II the teacher started with saying: you need to make your work done for every class. I think that is the most simple way you can complete the semester. Cause when it comes to architecture school it all comes down to the work done  in the course of the semester. To be honest, this just requires a lot of extra work. We are not about that in the lazy community. So maybe this is a bad advice I'm about to give you but maybe try to fake some progress. Like yes, do your work but to do it in a quick way. This way you would still please the teacher, do some work and still be lazy about it. This is kinda that saying: fake it till you make it.  While trying to get  away with work you will still do your part and there would still be an outlined idea of with the project of your final.

Another way is to find what is working for you and by this I mean: are you Night Owl or a Morning Bird. Most of the people at my University are definitely the creations of the night but I appreciate my sleep a lot so I most certainly cannot pull off all nighters. This is the main reason I do not leave anything for the last 2 days, I cannot stay up for that long and be productive. I start my project in a week in advance and I finishing time with my other colleagues.

Another thing I learned is that sometimes laziness it's an indicator of something much deeper than that. I noticed within myself that when I don't feel motivated to draw I am actually just afraid of the imperfections I might commit. Lack of motivation can come from a bunch of different reasons. Sometimes it can even mark that the field of study might not be for you. If you find yourself rather doing anything else then what you are supposed to, maybe you're not lazy you are just in the wrong place in the wrong time. 

 If your laziness comes from the same reason as mine then we can work on it together. The only method we need to practice to do action and to do it now. When I overcome my perfectionism (because that's the official term, I'm not saying that a person with OCD in any shape or form) I notice that I'm actually enjoying the time I spend drawing. Yes, I still commit mistakes but I most certainly love the process making them.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page