top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

Eurosender review

This is kind of an older situation, but we already got used to me not posting anything in time. Well, what can I say, life gets pretty busy when you're having fun. This is, once again, related to packing stuff. I already heard about Eurosender from my Italian friends from the last semester so for experimental purposes (and to not destroy another perfectly good suitcase on the cobblestones) I decided to try it out myself. The premise of this service is to get your luggage from one doorstep to another. The price is only slightly more expensive than the one that comes with the airlines, so why not give it a go, right? After all, it comes with the benefit of skipping the check in lines and pulling the heavy stuff behind you, so much freedom. Right? Now, there are still some problematic aspects, which is seemingly a quality of everything. Some problems occurred. For example, it was already a hard start because even thou the site said the team would come to pick the suitcase up in the same day you make the application online, my parents had to wait 2 days at home, and they didn't come. They had to turn to some acquaintances to actually drive my luggage to the pick up center so they basically did a job they paid for. The website said it would take anywhere from 3 days to 7 so I basically packed only a few clothes I could wear for a week. This anticipation period got longer than that and I was religiously checking the parcels. On one Friday morning, my suitcase finally arrived in Portugal in the early morning and I was very hopeful about receiving my clothes, since I had a little trip for the weekend. That didn't happen. I was trying to call the local parcel but they wouldn't pick up, then I called the Eurosender help center from London, they would just give me a phone number, that would still not pick up. It took me five days and countless phone calls until I figured out that they're not picking up because I had to type in my postal code (very unusual thing to ask as a basic introduction of yourself, I know). I kinda had a mental breakdown through the phone so they understood, they better do something or who knows what will happen to this poor girl. In a matter of a few hours I finally had my suitcase and it was kind of a happy end. I say kind of because it still came with a lot of stress and anger management. I was at a point that I almost took a taxi to the other part of the city (the parcel center was truly far away) to get my suitcase. This is not my job, it's not why I paid them. Would I recommend it? If you decide to ship it in time, like way before you arrive, then I guess it's alright, but if we're honest with ourselves, we always leave packing for last minute because some things we have to purchase last minute. But when it comes to local carrying, it's still slightly more convenient.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page