top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureImola Koós

5 Hungarian dishes to impress your international friends

Hungarian cuisine is truly one of a kind. With excessive use of paprika and fat in our diet we manage to make some dishes that make the rest of the world be amazed by our country even more.

I have to admit that this list doesn't entirely reflect on Hungary, but the territory that used to be Hungary's a long-long time ago: Transylvania. There is where I've been born and where I've lived till I finished high school, so the local cuisine's influence shows.

Palacsinta

When I was little and somebody said they will have palacsinta at home, everybody instantly got jealous. It's basically a crepe you roll and of course, before you roll it, you put something on it. That something varies on the taste of the person, but some of the most popular options are jam, nutella, sugar, ice cream even. It's a great dessert, what can I say.

Gulyás

My little sister is super picky but would NEVER refuse a bowl of Goulash. This dish is special because it's usually done outdoors and with the big family. I remember, I used to go to the riverfront with close family friends and we would all prepare the lunch together, which basically meant to peel the potatoes. It's a good dish to show what a Hungarian likes because this stuff is packed with paprika.

Töltött káposzta

This one is a Christmas stable. Forget the candy canes and the stuffed turkey, there's no Christmas spirit without the delicious smell of stuffed cabbage. It's usually made with meet and rice that cooks inside the cabbage leaf but my mom made a some for me with mushrooms, since I'm vegetarian. Maybe I'm not being unbiased but the vegetarian version definitely tasted better.

Lángos

This is something me and my middle school friends would always buy if we didn't have the time to go home after school before the art lessons would start. It's pretty basic and it can be topped with pretty much anything so it doesn't really matter whether you like the sweet or the savory food. It's the pizza of the Hungarians.

Zakuszka

This one is a Transylvanian classic. It's more of the Balcan side but nonetheless, everybody loves it. Most of my Hungarian friends didn't really know what it is cause I think they have a different name (which happens a lot of time, it was hard to learn their using of words: for example, tészta for them means pasta while tészta for us means cake). It's not very popular in some parts in Hungary, but they fell in love as soon as they have a little bit of my mom's heavenly Zakuszka.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page